Filter by Event Type:

  • Academic
  • Alumni
  • Arts + Entertainment
  • Community
  • Cultural
  • Lectures + Seminars
  • Ministry
  • Wellness

Events by Department:

Select a Department

Friday, January 25, 2019

Skills Course - SKL-SOCJ-012519: NOPD Federal Consent Decree Proceeding

Time: 9 am to 1 pm

Contact: Hector A Linares · · 5048615560

Location: Proceeding – LS308; Post-Proceeding Discussion - LS 344

(Friday, January 25, 2019) (9:00 am – 1:00 pm) (Proceeding – LS 308; Discussion - LS 344; )

On January 11, 2013, the City of New Orleans, the New Orleans Police Department (NOPD) and the United States Department of Justice (DOJ) entered into an Agreement to ensure that the services of the NOPD improve public safety, increase public confidence, and protect the constitutional rights of all citizens. In this unique skills course, students will attend a proceeding held right here on campus before the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana with Judge Susie Morgan presiding. The proceeding will feature reports by the Monitoring Team, the U.S. DOJ, and the NOPD. Immediately following the proceeding, the lawyers who lead the Federal Consent Decree Monitoring Team will present to students giving an overview of the origins of the NOPD Consent Decree, the role of the Monitoring Team in evaluating compliance, and the role of the federal judge in promoting, assessing, and ultimately ruling on whether NOPD has complied with its obligations under the Decree.

Note: Students must attend both the discussion and the federal court proceeding to receive skills credit. Lunch will be provided during the post-proceeding discussion.



Law Alumni Luncheon

Time: 11 am to 1 pm

Contact: Office of Alumni Engagement · · 504-861-5454

Location: Ritz-Carlton Hotel, 921 Canal Street, New Orleans

Cost: $55/person Get Tickets

2019 Annual Law Alumni Luncheon

The Loyola University New Orleans College of Law invites you to the Annual Law Alumni Luncheon. Join us as we honor Professor Kathryn Venturatos Lorio, J.D. '73 as the 2019 recipient of the St. Ives Award. 


Friday, January 25, 2019

11:00 a.m.reception
12:00 p.m. luncheon 

The Ritz-Carlton Hotel
921 Canal Street
New Orleans

Pastoral Counseling

Time: 12 pm to 3 pm

Contact: Ken Weber · · 5048653167

Location: Manresa Den, 107 Bobet Hall

Stop by to say hi to Pastor James Simmons of Beacon Light International Baptist Cathedral to talk about what's going on in your life!  Contact Pastor Simmons at

Tattoos/Tat-Two's: Self-Discovery and Otherness

Time: 3:30 pm to 4:30 pm

Contact: Sybol Anderson · · 5048652306

Location: Whitney Presentation Room, Thomas Hall

Professor Jean Brager shares the multi-faceted pedagogy he uses in his First-Year Seminar, “Performance and Performativity,” to achieve near-native intuition in students, including in their efforts to engage “othered” identities. His presentation features original staged monologues by students Erin Haynes, Adelaide LaTorre, and Darian Ritter, whose personal accounts of identity and self-discovery have the power to inspire in each of us greater open-mindedness towards and respect for each other





Student Exhibition: Hive Mind

Time: 5 pm to 7 pm

Contact: Karoline Schleh · · (504) 865-3037

Location: Collins C. Diboll Gallery, 4th Floor, Monroe Library

A combined effort between the current and the graduated, Hive Mind is a collaborative project for the Loyola University New Orleans alumni show. The artwork shown in the gallery is all created by Loyola University alumni and this year, curated by current students themselves as they learn the ins and outs of the curatorial arts. The students did much of the work themselves, from beginning to end, in Prof. Lee Deigaard’s “Curating: History and Practice.”

Opening: Wednesday, December 5, 5 – 7 pm

Name of Class: Curation: History & Practice
Instructor: Lee Deigaard
Student Curators: Sallie Anderson, Hera Bogdanos, Blake Bohner, Christian Borges, Victoria Bueso, Avery Cerniglia, Alexa Condos, MC Davis, Richard DeSchweinitz, Madeline Fleming, Alexandra Hay, Connor Kelly, Carmen Leiva-Garcia, Suzannah Milby, Gabrielle Moore, Michael Murphy, Rosa Pace, Bennett Plessala, Serei Rama, Sofia Riggio, Emma Sonnier, Andy Thompson, and Amanda Wilkes.